The beatings will continue until moral improves

When I was growing up my Stepdad would tell me how lucky I had it when getting disciplined. According to him, his Mom used to give him a pair of scissors and send him out into the field behind their house to pick a willow switch.

Picking a willow switch looked something like this...

Picking a willow switch looked something like this...

When he returned, she would judge the length of time it took him to retrieve the branch, the girth of the branch he chose, and the severity of punishment he deserved. Then she would swat his ass with that branch for how many ever strokes she deemed him worthy. Apparently this continued with less and less frequency whenever he needed discipline well into his teen years. Even as he got older and stronger, he knew that if he smarted off or resisted Mom during these beatings that he would have to answer to Dad.

Even though I hated my Stepdad as a kid, as an adult I look back on those times and realize he meant right and that he’s the most responsible, funny, well-adjusted person I know. He also loved his mother dearly until the day she passed about 10 years ago. There are still things that shake him up when he’s reminded of her. Her discipline did not effect his love for her.

Those stories were usually enough to scare me into being a good kid, although on occasion I remember getting my ass swatted. Even though I got spanked a handful of times I turned out to be a pretty decent individual – I have a job, I’m self-sufficient, I live on my own and I’m a law abiding citizen.

My Grandmother still gives kids a light tap on the ass when they don’t behave. It works wonders on my cousin’s kids and other children that come for a visit. They’ll come over, run amok for about an hour, and then Grandma will grab them by the shoulder, whip them around and give them just a little swat on the backside. I’ve never seen a better attitude adjuster in all my life.

Grandma’s spanks are the equivalent of a football player ass-pat, but that look of surprise is one that could only be achieved by a kid that’s never been physically disciplined in their life. The spankings are usually followed by a few sniffles, some deep contemplation, and finally, a well-adjusted child that behaves.

spanking

So, what’s so wrong with an ass-swatting here and there? Why don’t parents discipline their kids anymore? In moderation I don’t see any problem with it. What’s other people’s take on it?

Picture Is Unrelated…

Waterskiing Elephants!
c/o Picture Is Unrelated

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The beatings will continue until moral improves”

  1. Robert Says:

    well put! I agree – http://iamhilarious.com/i-will-not-steal-anything-from-anyone-ever/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

